Thank You For Saving My Life!

This is a message to people who work at St. Luke’s Hospital in Kansas City, the Coliseum Hospital in Macon, Georgia and actually anyone who works in the health field anywhere on the planet…really! Thank you for saving my life. St. Luke’s has a “rehab reunion” once a year and unfortunately I was out of town on that October date in 2006. So…I wrote them a letter to be read at the function. One of the things I mentioned (along with thanking them for the “good” drugs) was that I thought of them every day. Now, I want them to know that somehow, in some way, I still do. It might be a memory of John on the seventh floor singing to me as he whisked in to open the blinds, Caroline making me laugh when I really, really needed to, Randy kicking my butt in PT, or whoever that lady was who came in a few times during my last month to give me a hand massage (my only pleasant physical experience for a total of three months). When I simply have a brief thought of gratitude for good health during my day, as we all do, mine is followed by at least a brief thought of gratitude for all those people who took such good care of me and got me back on my feet.

Today, Whitney and I will take the next round of “hospital cups” to St. Luke’s and leave them on the 4th and 7th floors as a tremendously inadequate thank you for “saving my life”.

Here is a picture of the two cups that I saved for myself:

The one on the right was fired in the soda kiln and has a dot of gold luster. In an earlier post, I blogged how they were made.

www.taradawley.com

One Response

  1. Tara, I love your Thank-you pottery idea! And yours is the exact type of letter that should be posted on my new Web site, ThankingOfYou.com. It’s for posting and searching stories of gratitude for people who’ve made a difference in the life of another. Would you consider posting the original with us at http://www.ThankingOfYou.com? That way everyone can see it and be inspired by the “little things” others did to help you through a tough time. And we can also post it as Story of the Week and link up your Web site if you want to showcase your pottery.
    Please let me know :)
    Sincerely,
    Nora Firestone
    http://www.ThankingOfYou.com
    757-496-2527

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

