mmmmmmmm…coffee…

I don’t know about you but for me, coffee is simply a vehicle to get cream and sugar into my mouth. Here are a few steps in the process of making a cream and sugar set. Most steps are missing…you’d need to take a workshop from me to get a “full cup”.

cream
A one pound cylinder is thrown. The middle is pushed out against a rib to create the sharp “waist”. Couldn’t resist a lil’ poke.

cream 2
A beaky slab spout is laid into a “u” shape cut out of the cylinder. A handle is added and tiny balls of clay are popped on…just for fun. Dark slip is brushed on.

cream 3
A porcelain slip is brushed over the dark slip.

sugar
A shorter, wider cylinder is thrown for the sugar bowl. I push down the rim to make a seat for the lid. Also a waist line and a “poke”.

lid
A wee lid is thrown upside down.

sugar 2
The knob is made to relate to the vessel’s form. (I just love to give clay a little poke.) I could never get a spoon slot to look right until I took a close look at my sugar bowl at home made by Debbie Wald. Thanks, Deb.

sugar 3
Once again, the slips are layered and the detail is tended to.

dampbox
This is a great way to make a damp box. Any ol’ shelf unit, some rigid plastic, duct tape… of course, some flexible plastic and those wonderful strips of velcro that I love to hate because…

inthedampbox
sometimes you just gotta go put some kabobs on the grill.

IMG_1592
Good use of a kiln shelf, aye Canada?

2 sets
When the pots are still leather hard but the top layer of slip is dryish, I carve the narrative. Add a little bit of heat and…

Voila! …

narr.cream&sugar
Destined for some lucky coffee table…

2 Responses

  1. I’ve just finished reading your blog with tears in my eyes – tears of laugh and some tears of sadness. I wish I could just jump for a cup of coffee….

    Thank you!

    Miss you and all Red Star people,

    Shira

  2. We miss you, too! There is someone else in your space now but he! is not you!!

Leave a Reply

