In The Studio

In our Wednesday morning class, Debbie is making some interesting bowls, Textured rims. Kinda like coral or French poodles, I think. Yeah, they are like coral or French poodles…

This is an advanced class. We solve problems. Not just ceramic problems. Problems of the World…

If you wax over glaze, make sure that you use wax that won’t pull off the applied glaze. Yes, that will happen:

Didn’t happen to Jeff. He knew. Forgot to ask him if he learned the hard way. That’s one thing about ceramics, we often learn things due to making mistakes.

We have been using drape molds and hump molds like this one…

The day before class I threw a plate and did something I “just don’t do”…

I put one big spiral in it. Not like me at all. Today I trimmed on the foot ring then sliced away two sides of the plate.

The day before I had also rolled out a slab. When it had set up some, I rolled it more on top of a piece of chip board to get an interesting texture. And then…

I added slabs to the plate. And then…

I did it again. My favorite part is where the slip oozes out at the seam. And then…

And then…

And then I crunched it up. What can I say, class was over and I was “off the clock”. Time to go back to my studio and…

make teapots and…

and cruets (latex glove spout koozie) and a creamer and sugar bowl. Oddly, I already have trays for them made and bisqued. Ha ha, so there. You’ll have to excuse my grouchiness because it has been rainy so much and my truck has been tucked away in the cave and I miss her…

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

