The Eleventh Hour

The Eleventh Hour…seen as the darkest or final hour… will be lucky for shoppers tomorrow at my Super Duper Summer Sale (Sale pots are less than half price. The tables are full up.) because…

Today, at the Eleventh Hour of my shift (I do work…pottery is not play. Well, pottery is not just play. OK!, I DO PLAY ALL DAY, get over it:) Anyway, I found two boxes of pottery in my storage unit marked “Tara archive”. In the boxes were pots that I’ve stored away for quite some time. I had kept them because they are favorites or good representations.

The sale is from 10am to 5pm, tomorrow August 6 at Rafter E Studio, 4501 Fairmount.

Here are some pictures. These “unarchived” pots are not necessarily on sale but I do tend to price modestly…

My favorite cup from my “shino phase”. This was way back when I was spraying glaze. This one has wood ash sprayed over Malcolm’s Shino…

shino

A favorite from my “soda-fire phase”…

soda

Also from my “soda-fire phase”, these two pitchers sport glorious colors derived from copper. I think these have a stunning surface…

woodfire

Remember the green glaze? Many customers just won’t let me forget. I sold so many of these small pouring vessels. It sits on a little black base and is an excellent example of that very challenging glaze. Great for tea or olive oil, soy sauce etc. Hmm, maybe I’ll buy this one, myself…

grn tpot

Another great example of the green on this “optical illusion” cup and saucer…

grn cup:saucer

The one and only tea bowl of this design and the first time I used wire with a pot. Why did I not make more of these?

grn t bowl

Oh my gosh…I made so many of these big bowls. BIG! I kept one for myself but am letting this one go…

big bowl

Perhaps the first pot I carved with my narrative. This little cup was the start of a great body of work…

first writing

Perhaps the last cup I will carve my narrative into. It sits atop a hand built saucer.

Well, this photo is out of focus…

last writing

Out of hundreds of “narrative pots” that many of you are enjoying today, I made 3 pots with the grey surface and…I DID NOT CARVE on them. This was so hard for me. I loved to carve the narrative into those two layers of slip. I sold the vase, kept a tea bowl for myself and am going to set this tea bowl out tomorrow…

no writing

Come and enjoy! Well…I mean “shop”.

 

 

9 Responses

  1. Sell it all. And then get back to work! Good luck tomorrow!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Can you tell him how much the first carved cup, the 2 pitchers and the large bowl is? Also the coffee cup and saucer.
    Thank you Tara!
    Carol Mullen

    • Hi Carol!
      The carved tea bowl-ash spayed over Malcom’s? That is $35.
      Pitcher…$85.
      Big bowl…$110
      Cup&saucer…$50
      Long time no see! Hope all is well.

      • Hi Carol. I had a very good sale but didn’t sell the items you enquired about. I’ll chop those prices in half for you. Don’t want to pack up and store! And as a blog follower…you get free shipping!

      • Wow thank you Tara!! Is the little first cup still available? I would love and be honored to have the bowl and the 2nd cup and saucer and the little cup and most anything of yours. You are gifted in many ways. Thank you again.

      • The first cup. The big bowl. The green cup and saucer. I don’t know what you mean by “the little cup”. The narrative one with the blue celadon interior is gone but I have the others.

      • The 2nd picture – cup and saucer.
        A pitcher from the 3rd picture.
        The big bowl.

        That is great.

      • I just sent an e- to your …50o@gmail address. Email me if you have a different address now. WordPress is getting too cumbersome for this 🤓

      • taradawley@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

