Hospital Cups! 2010

This is the post I published in 2010:

In 2006, I went on a road trip to Florida and…well, I had a little coma. Long story, but when I got back into my studio months later, instead of throwing 50 pound platters on the wheel, I was only able to throw with 1/2 pound of clay. So I sat my little (very little) self down and made 50+ cups to give to some friends of mine. Every year since then, I make 50+ cups again because I will never forget and am forever grateful for the care that I received.

This is one pound of clay…

I wedge the clay then cut it in half…

I make some cups. Then I make some more cups.

I have a plaster cast of a sheet of metal that has a diamond plate design. I pound a thin slab onto it to pick up the impression.

I cut out the diamonds…

and attach them to the cup.

I glaze and fire them. Then I put gold luster on the diamond and fire them again. I give one to…

…Bradley. He accompanied me on my fateful journey and was the first person to save my life.

My brother sat by my side for seven weeks and held my hand when I was in my little coma. My daughter, well…there are not enough words…
These two cups are for Randy and Whitney…

Did you ever die but then think of someone at the last moment and change your mind? This cup is for Shannon…

I also give a cup to Susan and John. Susan gave me a mantra when I was in my little coma…it worked. John works at St. Luke’s and was with me every day. Connie gets a cup for all she did for me and because she represents all of my Red Star friends.

And the rest of the cups…

…they go to St. Luke’s hospital. I start with the lady who has been a greeter there for years. Her station is near the door to the parking garage. My daughter told me once that she found this person to be such a comfort. Everyday when Whitney came to the hospital, first to see if I was alive, later to see if I had made progress, the first thing she received at the door was a smile. Then I take cups to the physical therapy area and to the seventh floor.
Doctors, nurses, therapists, and others were so very kind to me. They saved my life then put me back together. I told them that I would never forget them…and I never will.
I forgot to put a diamond on one cup so I gave it a gold rim instead. Maybe you have this cup.

www.taradawley.com

4 Responses

  1. Tara,

    Your cups are very cool. I’m sorry you had to experience a coma.

    I’m also not surprised Randy and Whitney were there.

    Love you,

    Bob Dampier

    • Hi Bob! Thanks. I think you looked at my post before I was finished, though. Just noticed the time that you viewed. Hope all is well. I’ll be in Joplin again this summer!

  2. This brought tears to my eyes today.
    You are so special Tara.
    I wish you the very best.
    Love,
    Carol Mullen

    • Thanks, Carol. You are a sweetheart…I tear up a little each year, myself when I tend to the Hospital Cups. I am very grateful. Life is good.

Leave a Reply

